Skip to main content

How to create and send an Engage request

Learn how to create an Engage request and send it to a client, including adding client details, selecting workflows, and managing reminders.

Written by Shanté Simpson

Overview

Creating an Engage request allows you to collect required information and documents from a client. This guide explains how to create the request, configure key details, and send it to the client.


Before you start

Before creating an Engage request, ensure that:

  • You are logged into Legl

  • You have the client's basic details (name and email address)

  • You have access to Engage requests and workflows


Video tutorial


1. Create the Engage request

  1. Go to Engage, then select Individuals.

  2. Click Engage Request.

  3. Enter the client's email address, first name, and last name.

    • You can also add middle names if required.

  4. (Optional) Add a client reference to help you search for the client later.

  5. If the client already exists, select them from the list.

  6. If this is a new contact and your firm uses Ethical walls, set who can see it before you continue. See Set visibility (if required) below.

  7. Click Continue.

  8. Enter your matter reference.

  9. Select a reviewer. If your firm uses Ethical walls, choose someone who has access to the contact. If they do not have access, this warning appears: "[Reviewer] does not have access to this contact, so this workflow will not be visible to them. Share the contact with the reviewer, or their department, or choose a different reviewer." You can still create the request, but they will not see it until they have access. We recommend asking an Admin to make sure the right people have access.

  10. Choose the appropriate workflow.

  11. Upload any required documents.

    • If documents require a signature, ensure they are tagged correctly.

  12. Click Create Engage Request.

ℹ️ Important

At this stage, the Engage request is created but not yet sent to the client.


Set visibility (if required)

If your firm uses Ethical walls and this is a new contact, choose who can see the contact's Engage workflows before you select Continue.

  1. Under Who can see this contact's Engage workflows?, choose Firm-wide or Restricted.

  2. If you chose Restricted, select the departments and/or users that should have access. You must include yourself or your department.

If you have not included yourself or your department, this warning appears: "You are not in the list of users or departments selected, so you would not be able to raise this request. Either add yourself or your department, or share the contact firm-wide." You cannot continue until you do.


2. Send the Engage request to the client

  1. Configure your sending options:

    • CC recipients (optional)

      • Type an email address into the CC recipients (optional) field and select Add to copy other people on the request. You can add more than one recipient.

      • Select + CC myself if you want to be copied in as well.

      • CC'd recipients receive the initial client email and are visible to the client. This applies to the initial send only.

      • CC'd recipients do not receive any of the reminders.

      • You will always receive a BCC copy of the request.

    • Turn automated reminders on or off.

    • Select when the first reminder will be sent:

      • 1, 3, 7, 14, or 30 days.

  2. Send the request:

    • Select Send email (green send option) to email the client directly.

      • The client receives a request link via Legl's automated, firm-branded email.

      • The email is sent from [email protected].

      • Automated reminders are only enabled when using this option.

  3. (Optional) Share the request manually:

    • Select Copy shareable link to copy a direct link to the Engage request.

    • You can paste this link into your own email if you would prefer to share the request manually. To copy other people in the product instead, use the CC recipients (optional) field above.

    • Automated reminders are not triggered when using a shareable link.


What happens next

  • The client receives a link to complete their Engage request.

  • Reminder emails are sent automatically based on your settings.

  • The request status updates as the client progresses.


Important information

  • An Engage request is not sent until you choose a send option.

  • Automated reminders only apply when using the Send email option.

  • The Copy shareable link option does not trigger automated reminders.

  • CC'd recipients are copied on the initial send only and do not receive reminders.

  • All automated emails are sent from [email protected], and you will always receive a BCC copy.

  • If your firm uses Ethical walls, only Admins and the users and departments with access to the contact can see its Engage requests. See What are Ethical walls in Legl?.

Did this answer your question?